Events

Launch of the new Cultúr Salon Series with a Colloquium on J.M. Synge Photo: Irische Botschaft Berlin

Launch of the new Cultúr Salon Series with a Colloquium on J.M. Synge

April 29, 2021 19:00 - 22:00

Launch of the new Cultúr Salon Series with a Colloquium on J.M. Synge Photo: Irische Botschaft Berlin
Favorite Email to a friend

Contact Data

Venue
Address
Online
Online Online
Germany
Phone

Description

The Embassy is pleased to announce a brand new series of talks and discussions: Cultúr Salon will present stimulating multi-disciplinary themes and conversations with special guest speakers providing a space to find inspiration, to delve deeper into ideas, and to meet like-minded people with a focus on arts and culture.

The first Cultúr Salon is a part of our Synge 150 season - a colloquium on Synge that will take place on the 29th of April at 19:00 CET with lectures from Declan Kiberd and Dr. Catherine Wilsdon.

Declan Kiberd is Professor of Irish Studies at Notre Dame Dublin and was for many years Professor of Anglo-Irish Literature at UCD. Among his many books are Synge and the Irish Language (1979,1992) and Idir Dhá Chultúr. He served on the Board of the Abbey Theatre from 1999 to 2006.

His talk will consider the ways in which his experience of continental radicalism was mapped onto his depiction of The Aran Islands and also in the play Riders to the Sea.

Catherine Wilsdon completed a PhD in English Literature at University College Dublin in 2016. Her research focused on J.M. Synge's travels in Europe and was supported by the Irish Research Council. She was recipient of the Irish Research Council's New Foundations Award and the Fr. Liam Swords Fellowship which enabled her to further her research on Synge in Paris. Based in Ireland, Dr Wilsdon works for the University of Notre Dame's Keough-Naughton Institute for Irish Studies where she manages international programmes and lectures in Irish literature.

Shortly after his graduation from Trinity College Dublin, J.M. Synge travelled to Germany where he spent two years before moving to France. He also spent some months travelling in Italy. For Synge, the years spanning 1893-1903 represented a period of exploration and experimentation. In her talk, Catherine will outline the young writer's travels in Europe and posit ways in these experiences shaped his development as a writer.

Event Times

When
Event: April 29, 2021 19:00 - 22:00

Fees & Opening Hours

Fees
Free

Organizer

Organizer

Categories

Categories
Literature & Publishing
Theatre & Dance
Miscellaneous
close
close

Veranstaltungen

Beginn der neuen Cultúr Salon-Reihe mit einem Kolloquium über J.M. Synge Foto: Irische Botschaft Berlin

Beginn der neuen Cultúr Salon-Reihe mit einem Kolloquium über J.M. Synge

29. April 2021 19:00 - 22:00

Kontaktdaten

Veranstaltungsort
Adresse
Online
Online Online
Deutschland
Telefon

Beschreibung

Die Botschaft freut sich, eine brandneue Reihe von Gesprächen und Diskussionen ankündigen zu können: Cultúr Salon wird anregende multidisziplinäre Themen und Gespräche mit speziellen Gastrednern präsentieren, die Raum bieten, um Inspiration zu finden, tiefer in Ideen einzutauchen und Gleichgesinnte zu treffen mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Kunst und Kultur.

Der erste Cultúr Salon ist Teil unserer Synge 150-Saison - ein Kolloquium über Synge, das am 29. April um 19:00 Uhr MEZ mit Vorträgen von Declan Kiberd und Dr. Catherine Wilsdon stattfinden wird.

Declan Kiberd ist Professor für Irische Studien an der Notre Dame Dublin und war viele Jahre Professor für anglo-irische Literatur an der UCD. Zu seinen zahlreichen Büchern zählen Synge and the Irish Language (1979, 1992) und Idir Dhá Chultúr. Er war von 1999 bis 2006 Vorstandsmitglied des Abbey Theatre.

In seinem Vortrag wird untersucht, wie Synges Erfahrung mit kontinentalem Radikalismus auf seine Darstellung der Aran-Inseln und auch auf das Stück Riders to the Sea übertragen wurde.

Catherine Wilsdon promovierte 2016 in englischer Literatur am University College Dublin. Ihre Forschung konzentrierte sich auf die Reisen von J.M. Synge in Europa und wurde vom Irish Research Council unterstützt. Sie erhielt den New Foundations Award des Irish Research Council und den Fr. Liam Swords Fellowship, das es ihr ermöglichte, ihre Forschungen zu Synge in Paris voranzutreiben. Dr. Wilsdon lebt in Irland und arbeitet für das Keough-Naughton-Institut für Irische Studien der Universität Notre Dame, wo sie internationale Programme und Vorlesungen in irischer Literatur verwaltet.

Kurz nach seinem Abschluss am Trinity College Dublin reiste J.M. Synge nach Deutschland, wo er zwei Jahre verbrachte, bevor er nach Frankreich zog. Er verbrachte auch einige Monate in Italien. Für Synge waren die Jahre von 1893 bis 1903 eine Zeit der Erforschung und des Experimentierens. In ihrem Vortrag wird Catherine die Reisen des jungen Schriftstellers in Europa skizzieren und Wege aufzeigen, wie diese Erfahrungen seine Entwicklung als Schriftsteller geprägt haben.

Event Zeiten

Wann
Veranstaltung: 29. April 2021 19:00 - 22:00

Eintritt und Öffnungszeiten

Eintrittskosten
Umsonst

Veranstalter

Veranstalter

Kategorien

Kategorien
Literatur & Verlage
Tanz & Theater
Sonstiges
schließen
schließen