Contact Data

Browse Gallery

Address
Fidicinstr. 12
ZIP, City
10965 Berlin
Country
Germany
Web
Facebook
Instagram

Description

Since 2010, the BROWSE GALLERY has conceived and realized numerous art and photography exhibitions, international festivals and other cultural projects in and outside of Berlin. It works together with artists* and photographers* from Berlin and internationally. The conceptual and curatorial interest lies in the exploration and testing of mutual dialogues between individual artistic production on the one hand and social processes of cultural production and critical public dialogue on the other.

Currently, the BROWSE GALLERY is exploring subcultural movements and innovative artistic positions from the 1960s onwards. In this context, the gallery produced, among other things, a large exhibition of the album Cover Art by the British photo agency HIPGNOSIS in 2018 (who created many icon album covers for rock legends like the Pink Floyd or Rolling Stones), which is currently touring Europe. In 2019 it has also presented a photo exhibition with pictures by Michael Spencer Jones, whose photographs featured on the first LP covers of the British cult band OASIS in the 1990s.

Contemporary British art is anothergallery focus. Supreme collage works by Peter Blake, Godfather of British Pop Art, were presented in an acclaimed show early 2019. Recently the Browse Gallery added the British painter David Storey to its profile.

Currently Browse Gallery is working on a photo installation and exhibition revolving around the impact and legacy of the German rock band TON Steine Scherben. It will open on the 11th of September 2020 at Kunstquartier Bethanien as a contribution to the larger event "Wenn die Nacht am Tiefsten - Ein Scherben-Festival" , cooperating with band members and other parties involved.

Details

Legal Form
Other Legal Form
Established at
2010 May

Payment

Supported Payment
PayPal, Invoice

Opening hours

Visiting by appointment.

Categories

Categories
Visual Arts
Design
Photography
Music
Miscellaneous
Institution types
Business
Organisation
Culture
close
close

Kontaktdaten

Browse Gallery

Adresse
Fidicinstr. 12
PLZ, Ort
10965 Berlin
Land
Deutschland
Web
Facebook
Instagram

Beschreibung

Die BROWSE GALLERY konzipiert und realisiert seit 2010 in- und außerhalb Berlins zahlreiche Kunst- und Fotografie-Ausstellungen, internationale Festivals und andere kulturelle Projekte. Dabei arbeitet sie mit Künstler*innen und Fotograf*innen aus Berlin und international zusammen. Das konzeptionelle und kuratorische Interesse liegt bei der Erforschung und Erprobung wechselseitiger Dialoge zwischen individueller künstlerischer Produktion einerseits und gesellschaftlichen Prozessen der Kulturbildung, Erzeugung von (kritischer) Öffentlichkeit andererseits.

Aktuell beschäftigt sich die BROWSE GALLERY verstärkt mit subkulturellen Bewegungen und innovativen künstlerischen Positionen ab den 60er Jahren. In diesem Kontext produzierte die Galerie u.a. 2018 eine große Werkschau zur Album Cover Art der britischen Fotoagentur HIPGNOSIS, die LP-Cover-Ikonen für Rocklegenden von Pink Floyd bis Rolling Stones schuf und die aktuell durch Europa wandert. 2019 folgte eine Foto-Ausstellung mit Bildern von Michael Spencer Jones, dessen Fotografien in den 90er Jahren die ersten LP- Cover der Kult-Band OASIS schmückten.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Galerie ist die zeitgenössische britische Kunst. Anfang 2019 präsentierte die Galerie eine Auswahl der exquisiten Collagen von Peter Blake, Godfather der britischen Pop Art einem Berliner Publikum. Seit Anfang 2020 erweiterte die Galerie ihr Portfolio um die Arbeiten des britischen Malers David Storey.

Aktuell in Vorbereitung sind eine Foto-Installation und Ausstellung zu Entwicklung, Rezeption und Wirkmacht der Band TON STEINE SCHERBEN. Eröffnet werden diese am 11. September 2020 im Kunstquartier Bethanien als Teil des Scherben-Festivals "Wenn die Nacht am Tiefsten ", in Kooperation mit Bandmitgliedern und anderen beteiligten Akteur*innen.

Details

Rechtsform
Sonstige
Gründungsdatum
2010 Mai

Akzeptierte Zahlungsmethoden

Zahlungsmöglichkeiten
PayPal, Rechnung

Öffnungszeiten

Termin nach Vereinbarung.

Kategorien

Kategorien
Bildende Kunst
Design
Fotografie
Musik
Sonstiges
Institutions-Typen
Gewerbe
Organisation
Kultur
schließen
schließen