Europäischer Monat der Fotografie

Europäischer Monat der Fotografie

Follow Send Email

Contact Data

Kulturprojekte Berlin

Address
Klosterstraße 68
ZIP, City
10179 Berlin
Country
Germany
Phone
Website

Description

European Month of Photography Berlin

The European Month of Photography Berlin is the largest photo festival in Germany and has taken place in Berlin every two years since 2004, presenting numerous exhibitions and events on historical and contemporary photography. The organiser is Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH in cooperation with museums, cultural institutions and galleries in Berlin and Potsdam. From initially 83 institutions with 93 exhibitions and 135,000 visitors, partner participation has risen to over 120 institutions, which in 2010 offered more than 140 exhibitions as well as 250 events and thus drew more than 500,000 national and international visitors.

Theme 2012: The View of the Other

From 19 October to 25 November 2012, the festival makes the capital city the focus of local and international attention as a photo metropolis for the fifth time. The European Month of Photography Berlin once again presents a broad spectrum of exhibitions and events that address this year’s theme The View of the Other from various perspectives and in doing so highlight a variety of thematic and medial aspects: topics such as the construction of identity, exoticisation, colonialism, voyeurism, reflections on the familiar and the alien and much more. The exhibitions and their protagonists, the photographers and artists, also enter into a dialogue that provides insights into the development and constitution of our society or societies.

The Jury

Under the direction of the new curator Katia Reich, the jury selected round 100 participants and exhibitions from the over 150 applications received. The jury consisted of Florian Ebner (Museum für Photographie Braunschweig e.V.), Matthias Harder (Helmut Newton Foundation), Felix Hoffmann (C/O Berlin), Gereon Sievernich (Martin-Gropius-Bau) and Christiane Stahl (Alfred Erhardt Stiftung).

Jury Statement

‘In selecting the institutions participating with the exhibition projects and artistic presentations that they submitted, various aspects were taken into consideration. For the European Month of Photography Berlin from 19 October to 25 November 2012, what stood in the foreground were the artistic and photographic works with respect to their examination of different aspects of this year’s theme: The View of the Other. In doing so, the thematically relevant and artistically incisive handling of photography and the special historical facets of this medium were given particular attention. In the selection, the exhibition concepts and formats proposed were considered in light of these criteria. What thus emerges is an overall appearance of the European Month of Photography Berlin with an incisive mixture of solo and group exhibitions, contrasts, the awarding of commissions, competitions and historical exhibitions ranging from the 19th to the 21th century, which can be seen in institutions with very diverse profiles – from project spaces and photography schools to museums – in Berlin.’

Please note: the participants in the festival have already been selected. Applications to participate in the 5th European Month of Photography Berlin are, unfortunately, no longer possible.

The admissino fee to almost every exhibition of the festival is free.
That is the reason why there is no festival pass.

Details

Legal Form
GmbH

Categories

Categories
Photography
Miscellaneous
Institution type
Culture
close
close

Europäischer Monat der Fotografie

Europäischer Monat der Fotografie

Kontaktdaten

Kulturprojekte Berlin

Adresse
Klosterstraße 68
PLZ, Ort
10179 Berlin
Land
Deutschland
Telefon
Website

Beschreibung

Europäischer Monat der Fotografie Berlin

Der Europäische Monat der Fotografie Berlin ist das größte deutsche Fotofestival, das seit 2004 alle zwei Jahre in Berlin stattfindet und zahlreiche Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen zu historischer und zeitgenössischer Fotografie präsentiert. Veranstalter ist die Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH in Zusammenarbeit mit Museen, Kulturinstitutionen und Galerien in Berlin und Potsdam. Von anfänglich 83 Institutionen mit 93 Ausstellungen und 135.000 Besuchern steigerte sich die Beteiligung der Partner auf über 120 Institutionen, die 2010 mehr als 140 Ausstellungen sowie 250 Veranstaltungen boten und so mehr als eine halbe Million nationale und internationale Besucherinnen und Besucher anlockten.

Thema 2012: Der Blick des Anderen

Vom 19. Oktober bis 25. November 2012 rückt das Festival die Hauptstadt zum fünften Mal als Fotometropole in den Mittelpunkt der lokalen und internationalen Aufmerksamkeit. Der Europäische Monat der Fotografie Berlin stellt wieder ein breites Spektrum an Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen vor, die das diesjährige Thema Der Blick des Anderen aus verschiedenen Perspektiven vorstellen und dabei eine Vielzahl an thematischen und medialen Aspekten beleuchten: Themen wie Konstruktion von Identität, Exotisierung, Kolonialismus, Voyeurismus, Reflektionen über das Eigene und das Fremde und vieles mehr. Die Ausstellungen und ihre Protagonisten, die Fotografinnen und Fotografen und die Künstlerinnen und Künstler werden darüber hinaus in einen Dialog treten, der Einblicke in die Entwicklung und Verfasstheit unserer Gesellschaft(en) gewährt.

Die Jury

Unter Leitung der neuen Kuratorin Katia Reich wählte die Jury aus über 150 eingegangenen Bewerbungen rund 100 Teilnehmer und Ausstellungen aus. Der Jury bestand aus Florian Ebner (Museum für Photographie Braunschweig e.V.), Matthias Harder (Helmut Newton Foundation), Felix Hoffmann (C/O Berlin), Gereon Sievernich (Martin-Gropius-Bau) und Christiane Stahl (ALFRED EHRHARDT STIFTUNG).

Statement der Jury

„Bei der Auswahl der teilnehmenden Institutionen mit ihren eingereichten Ausstellungsprojekten und künstlerischen Präsentationen wurden unterschiedliche Aspekte berücksichtigt. Für den Europäischen Monat der Fotografie Berlin vom 19. Oktober bis 25. November 2012 standen die künstlerischen und fotografischen Arbeiten in Hinblick auf ihre Auseinandersetzung mit den unterschiedlichen Aspekten des diesjährigen Themas im Vordergrund: Der Blick des Anderen. Dabei wurde dem inhaltlich relevanten und künstlerisch prägnanten Umgang mit der Fotografie, aber auch den außergewöhnlichen historischen Facetten dieses Mediums ein besonderes Augenmerk geschenkt. Bei der Auswahl wurden die vorgeschlagenen Ausstellungskonzeptionen und -formate im Spiegel dieser Kriterien betrachtet. So entsteht ein Gesamterscheinungsbild des Europäischen Monats der Fotografie Berlin mit einer prägnanten Mischung aus Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen, Gegenüberstellungen, Auftragsvergaben, Wettbewerben und historischen Ausstellungen, die vom 19. bis zum 21. Jahrhundert reichen und in sehr unterschiedlich profilierten Institutionen – vom Projektraum, Fotografie-Schulen bis zum Museum – in Berlin zu finden sind.“

Bitte beachten Sie: Die Teilnehmer des Festivals stehen fest. Bewerbungen zur Teilnahme zum 5. Europäischen Monat der Fotografie Berlin 2012 sind leider nicht mehr möglich.

Der Eintritt zu den Ausstellungen des Festivals ist fast überall frei.
Deshalb gibt es keinen Festivalpass.

Details

Rechtsform
GmbH

Kategorien

Kategorien
Fotografie
Sonstiges
Institutions-Typ
Kultur
schließen
schließen