MOMENTUM Photo: Osvaldo Budet

MOMENTUM

MOMENTUM Photo: Osvaldo Budet
Follow Send Email

Contact Data

MOMENTUM Gallery

Address
Kunstquartier Bethanien
Mariannenplatz 2
ZIP, City
10997 Berlin
Country
Germany
Mobile
Web

Description

MOMENTUM is a non-profit platform for time-based art, active worldwide since 2010, with headquarters in Berlin at the Kunstquartier Bethanien Art Center. MOMENTUM’s program is composed of local and international Exhibitions, Artist and Curator Residencies, Video Art in Public Space Initiatives, complete Archives of the Performance Program and Education Program, and a growing Collection.

Positioned as both a local and global platform, MOMENTUM serves as a bridge joining professional art communities, irrespective of institutional and national borders. Working on a model of international partnerships and cooperations, MOMENTUM supports artists and artistic innovation, bringing to Berlin work by international artists that would not otherwise have been seen there, and ensuring an international audience for exceptional local artists. The key ideas driving MOMENTUM are: Cooperation, Exchange, Education, Innovation, and Inspiration.
MOMENTUM continuously seeks innovative answers to the question ‘What is time-based art?’.

By enabling Exhibition, Discussion, Research, Creation, Collection, and Exchange, MOMENTUM is a platform which challenges the notion of time-based art in the context of both historical and technological development. Visual languages continue to evolve in concert with the technologies which drive them, and it is the role of visual artists to push the limits of these languages. As the world speeds up, and time itself seems to flow faster, MOMENTUM provides a program focused on the growing diversity and relevance of time- based practices, exploring how time-based art reflects the digitization of our societies and the resulting cultural change.

Having been founded by Rachel Rits-Volloch in Australia as a parallel event to the 17 Biennale of Sydney in May 2010, MOMENTUM moved to Berlin to a permanent space in the thriving Kunstquartier Bethanien Art Center in January 2011. Since its inception, MOMENTUM has presented over 100 Exhibitions and Events worldwide, showing the work of over 600 artists, as well as over 60 Education Events filmed and archived on the website, in addition to an ongoing program of Artistic Research Residencies which has so far hosted 45 international artists, alongside a diversity of parallel programming. MOMENTUM is also proud to feature the works of 40 international artists in the MOMENTUM Collection, in addition to close to 50 works comprising MOMENTUM’s Performance Archive.

Details

Legal Form
eG
Established at
2010 May
Number of Employees
3

Opening hours

Monday -Tuesday
closed
Wednesday -Sunday
13:00 - 19:00
Visiting by appointment.

Categories

Category
Visual Arts
Institution types
Organisation
Culture
Performance Art
close
close

MOMENTUM Foto: Osvaldo Budet

Kontaktdaten

MOMENTUM Gallery

Adresse
Kunstquartier Bethanien
Mariannenplatz 2
PLZ, Ort
10997 Berlin
Land
Deutschland
Mobil
Web
Adresse
Kunstquartier Bethanien
Mariannenplatz 2
PLZ, Ort
10997 Berlin
Land
Deutschland

Beschreibung

MOMENTUM ist eine Non-Profit-Plattform für zeitbasierte Kunst mit Sitz im Berliner Kunstquartier Bethanien und seit 2010 weltweit aktiv ist. Das Programm von MOMENTUM besteht aus lokalen und internationalen Ausstellungen, Künstler- und Kuratorenresidenzen, Initiativen für Videokunst in öffentlichen Räumen, einem Kunstvermittlungsprogramm und Archiv, sowie einer eigenen wachsenden Sammlung.

Durch die Bereitstellung von Ausstellungen, Diskussionen, Forschung, Produktion, Sammlung und Austausch ist MOMENTUM eine Plattform, die den Begriff der zeitbasierten Kunst im Kontext der historischen und technologischen Entwicklung herausfordert. Visuelle Sprachen entwickeln sich gemeinsam mit den Technologien, die sie antreiben und es ist die Rolle der visuellen Künstler, die Grenzen dieser Sprachen zu erweitern. In einer Zeit in der historische Narrative rasant beschleunigt werden, bietet MOMENTUM ein Programm, das dem gerecht wird: Wir konzentrieren uns auf die wachsende Vielfalt und Relevanz von zeitbasierten künstlerischen Praktiken und erforschen, wie zeitbasierte Kunst die Digitalisierung unserer Gesellschaften und den daraus resultierenden kulturellen Wandel widerspiegeln.

Als eine lokale und globale Plattform positioniert, dient MOMENTUM als Brücke, die professionelle Künstler miteinander verbindet, unabhängig von institutionellen und nationalen Grenzen. Mit seinem Modell internationaler Partnerschaften und Kooperationen unterstützt MOMENTUM Künstler indem sie Arbeiten Berliner und internationaler Künstler zeigt, die sonst hier nicht zu sehen wären. Die konzeptuellen Grundpfeiler von MOMENTUM sind: Kooperation, Austausch, Bildung, Innovation und Inspiration. MOMENTUM ist stets auf der Suche nach innovativen Antworten auf die Frage "Was ist zeitbasierte Kunst?".

Nachdem MOMENTUM im Mai 2010 von Rachel Rits-Volloch in Australien als Parallelveranstaltung zur 17 Biennale von Sydney gegründet worden war, zog MOMENTUM im Januar 2011 nach Berlin, um sich im blühenden Kunstquartier Bethanien niederzulassen. Seit seiner Gründung hat MOMENTUM über 100 Ausstellungen präsentiert, Arbeiten von fast 600 Künstlern ausgestellt, sowie über 60 Bildungsveranstaltungen ins Leben gerufen, die auf der Website zur Verfügung stehen. Abgesehen von dem laufenden Programm künstlerischer Forschungsresidenzen, die bisher über 45 internationale Künstler willkommen heißen konnte, ist MOMENTUM auch stolz darauf, die Werke von über 90 internationalen Künstlern im MOMENTUM Performance Archive und Collection zu präsentieren.

Details

Rechtsform
eG
Gründungsdatum
2010 Mai
Anzahl Angestellte
2

Öffnungszeiten

Montag -Dienstag
Geschlossen
Mittwoch -Sonntag
13:00 - 19:00
Termin nach Vereinbarung.

Kategorien

Kreativbereich
Bildende Kunst
Institutions-Typen
Organisation
Kultur
Performance Art
schließen
schließen